EpicSki › The Barking Bear Forums › On the Snow (Skiing Forums) › Snowboarding Discussions, Gear and Instruction › Is this normal, odd looking base edge fit? (gear question)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Is this normal, odd looking base edge fit? (gear question)

post #1 of 6
Thread Starter 

Got my new board on monday and it looks ok, base is flat, sidewalls all look ok, but on a few patches the base isn' t 100% flush with the steel edge, all but a few (mainly the tiny lower one on the picture) are filled with epoxy. These are super tiny pits, one or two however might be as "deep" as the base itself.

 

To me this seems like a miniscule cosmetic thing, but none of my other gear have pits/gaps like this.

I´ve asked the seller to provide an recommendation and to log it in case something breaks, I´ve even contacted the manufacturer, but so far I haven´t gotten an answer =(

 

There is snow now, what should I do?

 

tia

/Reboot

post #2 of 6

I've never seen anything like that. It looks like shoddy manufacturing (and someone trying to pull a fast one) to me. I would call that defective and not accept it unless I got a really bigly good deal.

post #3 of 6
Thread Starter 

thx for your input!

I´ve compared to all available gear I have an the only stuff that has an "epoxy" string like that is one low end K2 kids board and my old board, but neither has any traces of it not "being enough epoxy" or what glue is used.

 

It´s a brand new board (in plastic wrapping) and it´s supposed to have lifetime warranty, the reseller is a larger company specialized on snowsports, so it shouldn´t be shoddy, definitely paid for something other than shoddy :(

 

Just as I was typing the reseller just emailed me that they have forwarded the case from customer support to claims, sounds like good customer support, just a bit slow for me.

 

 

This is another view, this is the bigger of two problems, the gap is partially filled with epoxy in all but one corner.

 

 

EDIT, return was accepted and I´m now waiting for a new board. cross shipping even.


Edited by reboot - 2/8/17 at 12:19pm
post #4 of 6
Thread Starter 

the replacement board has the same strange base to edge fit :mad.

post #5 of 6

Yuk - care to share the name of the manufacturer? This might be why the boards are being sold through a reseller.

post #6 of 6
Thread Starter 

Since I´m hugely disappointed by now and won´t have a new board for my trip, Yes.

 

 

Both boards are YES. Typo 156W, neitehr YES or the reseller Blue Tomato has offered me an 100% guarantee so that I can use the board, return or refund has been without hassles from the reseller. Local YES agent offered to see if they could take care of warranty since Blue tomato was kind of slow in reponse, how ever as said none will let me use the board for a week and the take care of warranty, since board number two arrived there has been no response from YES.

 

I´m at a loss of what to do, need the board _now_ but, want it to be covered by the Life Time warranty. https://www.yesnowboard.com/support/warranty is a little vague about edge issues.

 

Adding to injury my new bindings have arrived.

 

EDIT, solved, either a third board or a full refund =)

Case closed, but I´d like to add that it is very fun board to ride, especially on harder snow.

 

EDIT, YES has stepped up.


Edited by reboot - 3/6/17 at 11:08am
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
EpicSki › The Barking Bear Forums › On the Snow (Skiing Forums) › Snowboarding Discussions, Gear and Instruction › Is this normal, odd looking base edge fit? (gear question)