New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Changes to Rules of Golf

post #1 of 19
Thread Starter 

I heard that there will be quite a few amendment to the Rules as of 1st January 2012, amongst these changes are:

 

Rule 18-2b – or ball moving after address – now comes with an exception that “exonerates the player from penalty if their ball moves after it have been addressed when it is known or virtually certain that they did not cause the ball to move.” 
The example given: If it is a gust of wind that moves the ball after it has been addressed, there is no penalty and the ball is played from its new position.
As it was, the rule was one the harshest in the game, and was in the spotlight several times this season with U.S. Open winner Rory McIlroy and Webb Simpson, notable victims.

 

 

Rule 13-4 – or ball in hazard; prohibited actions – change will allow golfers to smooth sand or soil in a hazard at any time, including before playing from the hazard, “providing it is done for the sole purpose of caring for the course and nothing is done to improve the position of lie of their ball, the area of their intended stance or swing, or their of play.” 
Said McLaughlin: “It has to be for the sole purpose of tidying up the bunker. If the rule is breached in any other way, the ruling is going to go against the player. 
“That’s more for the recreational player than it is for the elite-level player, where somebody didn’t rake the footprints in the bunker before. It’s okay as along as it’s not going to influence your stroke.” 

Another change will see the penalty for players arriving late – but within five minutes of their official starting time (Rule 6-3a) – reduced from disqualification to two strokes in stroke play and loss of the first hole in match play. 

And for amateurs, there no longer is a limit applicable for hole-in-one prizes because of “the special nature of a hole-in-one.” However, restrictions for other “in-round” prizes for longest drive and nearest-the-hole contests remain.
post #2 of 19

Finally the elimination of two of the dumbest rules in all of sports.  Golf still has several more changes to go (like relief from a divot in the middle of the fairway), but it's a start.

post #3 of 19

Dang,

 

I just called myself for a wind blown ball after address for the first time 2 weeks ago. Another classic case of it cost a stroke and it caused a stroke.

post #4 of 19

The changed ruling regarding a wind blown ball is great for the pro's as their green speeds are so fast.

 

The bunker change is no big deal, when going into a trap to play a shot, the last thing I'm thinking is tidying the trap. From a recreational standpoint, I'd like to penalize the idiots who do not take care of a trap after playing. Years ago, my Dad schooled me in leaving a trap better than you found it.

 

I believe it was Nicklaus who stated the first rule he would change is about being in your own fairway and having to play out of a divot. "Playing it down" would be a very hard change to sell - no matter the benefits. From the standpoint of an amateur, it's more unfair to play sections of a course that would be marked as 'ground under repair" on the tour. I know it happens a lot where I play during the summer.

 

Still, the Pro Tout change I'd most lobby for is penalty for slow play. Give an individual so many seconds to make a stroke when a group falls behind.

 

and, duhh, you forgot your starting time??? Get real!

post #5 of 19

This already exists... or are you saying you'd get rid of it?
 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Living Proof View Post


Still, the Pro Tout change I'd most lobby for is penalty for slow play. Give an individual so many seconds to make a stroke when a group falls behind.

 



 

post #6 of 19

Isn't there also some dumb rule that you aren't allowed to touch the green with your putter to check the grain?  That is a dumb rule if you asked me. 

post #7 of 19

Not a rule.  You can't fix spike marks with your putter, however.
 

Quote:
Originally Posted by crgildart View Post

Isn't there also some dumb rule that you aren't allowed to touch the green with your putter to check the grain?  That is a dumb rule if you asked me. 



 

post #8 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayT View Post

Not a rule.  You can't fix spike marks with your putter, however.
 



 



I've been told more than once that dragging the putter on the green to check the grain is illegal.  Not easy to find a reference of the actual rule online though..

Quote:
you can check the grain on the practice green by lightly dragging your putter across the green. If the grass stands up, you've scrapped the putter against the grain. If it stays down, you've scraped the putter with the grain. You can't do this on course, but you can test the green's collar or it's apron without penalty. Just make sure the grass is similar to what's on the green.

 

 

Might be talking about this, but clearly this intended to prevent unnecessary goofing around

 

Quote:
"One advanced skill that is worth learning is how to read the grain. On bent grass greens there is no grain, but on Bermuda grass, it can make a pretty significant difference. On a nice sunny day, you can easily tell the direction of the grain. If the blades look shiny, you're looking with the grain. If they look dull, you're looking against the grain. If it's a cloudy day, or close to dark, you won't be able to see the grain so easily. You can see which way the grain lies by dragging your putter on the green, and looking to see which way you have to drag it to get it to stand up. That is, as long as you're not playing in an organized event. It's illegal.
 

 

 


Edited by crgildart - 10/31/11 at 6:12pm
post #9 of 19

You can't drag your putter to determine grain direction (16-1D). You can't fix spike marks (rule 16-1A) unless they are impractical to avoid fixing when fixing a divot. 

 

http://www.4gea.com/ has an active rules forum.

 

the official USGA rules of golf.

post #10 of 19

Never knew that one... although I don't play a lot of courses with Bermuda greens so it's not much of an issue for me.

post #11 of 19

I just read in a mag, that there is a 4th change:

 

You can't listen to electronic music for an extended period??????

 

Is this the truth, talk about meaningless rules, Bobby Jones where are you on this one?

 

 

And while I'm whining about rules,

 

Last week I played on just a great fall day, cool weather, no wind, sun and great leaf color. It had rained the day previous and any ball hit in the air was left with a fair amount of mud. My group invoked the lift, clean and cheat rule! It does, indeed, feel strange, but, why ruin a great day.

 

post #12 of 19

http://www.usga.org/uploadedFiles/USGAHome/rules/rules_pg5-7_rules.pdf

 

It's a great rule, but it's only a real rule if you're music device is also capable of giving you illegal distance information.

post #13 of 19

I hope you didn't post that score.  Only the head pro can declare "lift, clean and place".  You, or your group may not decide it on your own.  Players may not agree within their group to waive rules.

post #14 of 19
Thread Starter 

R&A and USPGA should consider permitting a free drop if your ball happened to land in a divot left behind by some players in front of your group.

post #15 of 19

I really think the hitting OB rule is too harsh. I think it should be either a re-tee hitting 2 or everything played like a lateral hazard.. 

 

I believe it was Jack that said.. You can hit a pretty solid drive get a bad bounce and have your ball end up OB and your hitting 3 but you can completely miss the ball and your hitting 2.

post #16 of 19

 Mike, I agree. It has always struck me as odd that you can hit a ball into a lateral water hazard, walk up and drop where it crossed, but out of bounds was a reload hitting three. A missed shot is a missed shot. I never have understood why one is so much worse than the other. It should be treated as a lateral hazard. And if I could change one rule, it would be the number of clubs. 15 is around number, or 18 like the number of holes.

post #17 of 19

Completely agree.  I think all boundaries should be played as lateral, just like water.
 

Quote:
Originally Posted by miket81 View Post

I really think the hitting OB rule is too harsh. I think it should be either a re-tee hitting 2 or everything played like a lateral hazard.. 

 

I believe it was Jack that said.. You can hit a pretty solid drive get a bad bounce and have your ball end up OB and your hitting 3 but you can completely miss the ball and your hitting 2.



 

post #18 of 19

And if it helped the pace of play......yahoo.gif

post #19 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRusty View Post

http://www.usga.org/uploadedFiles/USGAHome/rules/rules_pg5-7_rules.pdf

 

It's a great rule, but it's only a real rule if you're music device is also capable of giving you illegal distance information.



Agreed, that is what caddies are for, giving distance information.  I'd rather not outsource pro caddies with ipods just yet on the PGA Tour.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: General Sports