or Connect
EpicSki › The Barking Bear Forums › On the Snow (Skiing Forums) › Member Gear Reviews › Review: 2012 Blizzard Black Pearl
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Review: 2012 Blizzard Black Pearl

post #1 of 48
Thread Starter 

 

Product:

 2012 Blizzard Black Pearl

Length/size Tested: 
166 cm
Sidecut
123-88-110
TR 19
Tip and Tail Rocker, Slight Camber underfoot, flip core technology

 

Environment of Conditions:
*Location of review: Multiple locations (Winter Park, Tahoe region...)
*Runs Taken: who's counting
*Snow Conditions: varied - chalky, refrozen skied out terrain, 
*Demo or Purchase: Yes!

 

Summary (inc. Strengths & Weaknesses):

 Designated in the freeski line, the Black Pearl lends itself to the daily driver category.

 

Other skis in class: Atomic Elysian,  Rossi S90w, Salomon Geisha, (to name a few)

 

 

Tester Info:
Age: 44
Height/Weight: 5'6" 135 lbs
Average days on snow:  30+
Years Skiing:  15-30 

 

Aggressiveness: The moderate side of aggressive, looking for an extra dose of RAWR!
 

 

2012 blizzard.jpg

 

I first skied the Blizzard Black Pearl at WinterPark, Colorado during SIA ski testing. The groomers were edgeable and chalky.  

I started out with a little skepticism that a rockered ski 88 under foot could be a daily driver but the Black Pearl quickly squashed my skepticism.

Transitions from short/medium/long radius turns were a cinch, and the forgiveness in a roller section was......well......forgiving, but the thing that surprised me most was the easy edge transitions, and general (for lack of a better term) grippy nature.

 

Day two - Sugar Bowl, conditions were less forgiving, skied out and refrozen  terrain, mixed with some interesting refrozen snow in the chutes and trees.

Spent the day testing some other skis and switched to the Black Pearls to ski out the afternoon. (about 3 hrs).

The snow didn't soften up like we thought it would, but the Black Pearl stood the test, and made the day fun, instead of just manageable.

 

I like to think of something that each of my skis inspires and this one inspires RAWR!

This is truly a daily driver that any woman would love!

 

 

post #2 of 48
Thread Starter 

We got hit with an awesome storm Friday afternoon that dumped 2 - 3 ft of snow,......light fluffy snow!

The bad news is that I loaned my powder skis out, thinking that I was not going to get out today

The good news is that I found out just how awesome the Black Pearls could be in 3 ft of Powder!!

I figured I had nothing to lose, except a day of skiing fresh powder if I didn't take these out.  What I didn't expect was an 88 mm waisted ski to slay it like these did.

Would a 110ish waisted ski with rocker be a better tool for the day?  Maybe, but I had no regrets and may just opt to take the Black Pearls out on the next powder day, even if I have my powder skis available.

Bob Barnes would be proudbiggrin.gif

What a great day!

 

 

Didn't bother taking the camera today but Phil got this shot of me with his iPhone

196279_10150442706815018_830505017_17384263_7685500_n.jpg

 

post #3 of 48


 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trekchick View Post

We got hit with an awesome storm Friday afternoon that dumped 2 - 3 ft of snow,......light fluffy snow!

The bad news is that I loaned my powder skis out, thinking that I was not going to get out today

The good news is that I found out just how awesome the Black Pearls could be in 3 ft of Powder!!

I figured I had nothing to lose, except a day of skiing fresh powder if I didn't take these out.  What I didn't expect was an 88 mm waisted ski to slay it like these did.

Would a 110ish waisted ski with rocker be a better tool for the day?  Maybe(the answer is yes), but I had no regrets and may just opt to take the Black Pearls out on the next powder day, even if I have my powder skis available.

Bob Barnes would be proudbiggrin.gif

What a great day!

 

 

Didn't bother taking the camera today but Phil got this shot of me with his iPhone

196279_10150442706815018_830505017_17384263_7685500_n.jpg

 


 

its a really great ski due to how balanced its flex I have no doubts it should rock some deep powder as long as the slope was steep enough and open enough. The main reason why I bought the men's versions was compared to other skis that skied hardpack/groomers as nicely it does much better off trail.

 

Words in quote in red are BWPA's not TC's

post #4 of 48

NIce Trish, love that picture. Pearls are a girls best friend?  

post #5 of 48
Thread Starter 

BWPA, I know that a bigger, more rockered ski would be funner on some level, especially if the conditions were heavier, but with this light powder, it sure was fun skiing "in" the powder instead of on top of it.......as rossi smash says, kinda old school and tons of fun!

 

Finndog, Black Pearls do make a girl appreciate Black diamonds!

post #6 of 48

For those "not in the know" or just to keep you up to the players in the game..The Black Pearl is the ladies version of the Bushwacker with a slight variation in the core. 

post #7 of 48
Thread Starter 

Because I've been approached about the graphics on this ski (many times) I thought I'd tell my story and why I love these graphics.

Story of the graphix here

 

 

Quote: from another thread.....
As to Graphix: I was unsure of the Bull theme of this new freeride ski line until I heard the story. It seems that Arne Backstrom was involved in designing this new freeride line before he died in South America. When he won the freeskiing world tour in 2010, it was said that he "charged it like a bull" (and the belt buckle for the winner of the Freeskiing world tour has a bull graphic on it)These graphix are a tribute to the man who was instrumental in Blizzard freeride line and the flip core technology and that makes these graphix special.

 


I've had a bit of an issued with head games the past few years, beating myself up when I have a weird funk day, and freezing up when the terrain gets challenging.
This season, I committed to working on my tactical skiing more than my technical skiing and getting some of my RAWR back.
When I saw the graphics of the Freeride series on the wall at SIA I wondered if they'd appeal to the average woman skier, then I heard the story and I warmed up to them a lot.
The real passion for these graphics came to me when I clicked into them at Winterpark, even before I took my first turn, I looked down at the purple bull with his piercing pink eyes and I was inspired to charge the mountain.

Then.......I made my first turn and I knew this ski was a winner and that Blizzard hit this one out of the park, both in graphics that inspire RAWR and a ski that skis so well that its sure to build confidence.

RAWR!

post #8 of 48

is RAWR, the same as ROAR or is this some GNAR derivative?  biggrin.gif

post #9 of 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Finndog View Post

is RAWR, the same as ROAR or is this some GNAR derivative?  biggrin.gif

 

 

RAWR is fairly standard bachelorette party idiom for "Olé".       Or so I'm told.  smile.gif

post #10 of 48

I'm sure that technique you have worked on so hard for the last several seasons and all the good stuff you did this year had nothing to do with the RAWR. Funny how skis get all the credit and the BB's of the world get a footnote!

 

Just sayin'biggrin.gif

 

but I really enjoy the skis Phil got me to try so who am I to talk!

post #11 of 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trekchick View Post

The real passion for these graphics came to me when I clicked into them at Winterpark, even before I took my first turn, I looked down at the purple bull with his piercing pink eyes and I was inspired to charge the mountain.

Then.......I made my first turn and I knew this ski was a winner and that Blizzard hit this one out of the park, both in graphics that inspire RAWR and a ski that skis so well that its sure to build confidence.

RAWR!


icon14.gif Nice!

post #12 of 48


A good ski just makes all those skills that much more fun....... But in powder like that, I don't even want to think about "skills".....
 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Living Proof View Post

I'm sure that technique you have worked on so hard for the last several seasons and all the good stuff you did this year had nothing to do with the RAWR. Funny how skis get all the credit and the BB's of the world get a footnote!

 

Just sayin'biggrin.gif

 

but I really enjoy the skis Phil got me to try so who am I to talk!



 

post #13 of 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Finndog View Post


A good ski just makes all those skills that much more fun....... But in powder like that, I don't even want to think about "skills".....
 



 

 

we had 10 inches of snow today. The Bushwacker were great but I was quickly reminded why their are big skis. My buddy passed me on Nomads SFTs and there was no way I was going to keep up! :(  

 

The Bushwacker is proving to be one of the most versatile skis I have used thus far though and its not that it isnt great in powder its just that you wont keep up with buddies who are even of a lesser skill level when they on their big(ger) skis and you are going to work harder than they are.
 

 

post #14 of 48

Ahhh, the eternal question that sits between my friend Finndog and me: Is it the skill of the skier or the ski. Given the choice, I stand with the skills of the skier. Finn, the dog, stands with the ski.

 

In learning theory¸ one theory is there are 4 stages
unconsciously incompetent (most people who have never skied big trees or pow)
consciously incompetent (I know I can’t do it)
consciously competent (I can do it if I try real hard)
unconsciously competent (Hell, no problem, just do it)

 

My sense is this that year Trekchick, has moved into the unconsciously competent level of skier. Trish has taken a lot of lessons in the past, always worked to improve, moved to a major ski area, skied a lot more and is just skiing at a much higher level. I am very happy she can just jump on a new pair of skis and make pronouncements like the Black Pearl just rocks in new pow. I would not have judged her ski reviews as highly 3 years ago when she purchased a lot of skis, living more in the consciously competent area….thinking that if she had better equipment, she would be better skier.

 

My beliefs are that sweat equity counts. Work at it, always get expert advice on improving, and keep trying to be the best you can. 2 weeks ago, at Stowe, I skied with Epic. We were both on skis that get great reviews¸ made by the same company¸ his 10 mm narrower at the waist than mine. Epic’s skiing blew me away, no comparison. Compared with Epic, I am consciously incompetent, yet, he told me he still works with higher level instructors to improve his own skiing. Keep working to improve skills or regress. I wish I could buy the ski that would make me his equal. Few, if any, get to his level on their own, we all have teachers or have walked the paths of others and learned from their efforts. And so, my thoughts about the contributions of Bob Barnes and the work TC has done on her skiing skills are not offered to diminish the new Blizzard Black Pearls, but to honor those who really make a difference. I’m a fan and owner of a pair of Blizzard Sl’s.

 

Finndog has spent much time in powder and trees. I hope someday to spend some time with him at the ‘boat and learn tricks about skiing where he ventures. Not say'in the right ski does not count for a better experience, only, that right ski is subjective.

 

I appreciate good equipment, no matter what I’m doing – cutting meat with a good knife, driving nails with a hammer, or trying to rip on skis. But, make no mistake, if I had the choice of spending a day with Bob Barnes to pick his brain about how to ski better or buying a new Blizzard ski, I’m riding the chair with Bob.

 

Trish, enjoy the new skis. See you and the Black Pearls at the Gathering! Bring a similar amount of pow with you. We can all yell "yahoo"!


Edited by Living Proof - 3/22/11 at 6:11pm
post #15 of 48


 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Living Proof View Post

Ahhh, the eternal question that sits between my friend Finndog and me: Is it the skill of the skier or the ski. Given the choice, I stand with the skills of the skier. Finn, the dog, stands with the ski.

 

In learning theory¸ one theory is there are 4 stages
unconsciously incompetent (most people who have never skied big trees or pow)
consciously incompetent (I know I can’t do it)
consciously competent (I can do it if I try real hard)
unconsciously competent (Hell, no problem, just do it)

 

My sense is this that year Trek Chick, has moved into the unconsciously competent level of skier. Trish has taken a lot of lessons in the past, always worked to improve, moved to a major ski area, skied a lot more and is just skiing at a much higher level. I am very happy she can just jump on a new pair of skis and make pronouncements like the Black Pearl just rocks in new pow. I would not have judged her ski reviews as highly 3 years ago when she purchased a lot of skis, living more in the consciously competent area….thinking that if she had better equipment, she would be better skier.

 

My beliefs are that sweat equity counts. Work at it, always get expert advice on improving, and keep trying to be the best you can. 2 weeks ago, at Stowe, I skied with Epic. We were both on skis that get great reviews¸ made by the same company¸ his 10 mm narrower at the waist than mine. Epic’s skiing blew me away, no comparison. Compared with Epic, I am consciously incompetent, yet, he told me he still works with higher level instructors to improve his own skiing. Keep working to improve skills or regress. I wish I could buy the ski that would make me his equal. Few, if any, get to his level on their own, we all have teachers or have walked the paths of others and learned from their efforts. And so, my thoughts about the contributions of Bob Barnes and the work TC has done on her skiing skills are not offered to diminish the new Blizzard Black Pearls, but to honor those who really make a difference. I’m a fan and owner of a pair of Blizzard Sl’s.

 

Finndog has spent much time in powder and trees. I hope someday to spend some time with him at the ‘boat and learn tricks about skiing where he ventures. Not say'in the right ski does not count for a better experience, only, that right ski is subjective.

 

I appreciate good equipment, no matter what I’m doing – cutting meat with a good knife, driving nails with a hammer, or trying to rip on skis. But, make no mistake, if I had the choice of spending a day with Bob Barnes to pick his brain about how to ski better or buying a new Blizzard ski, I’m riding the chair with Bob.

 

Trish, enjoy the new skis. See you and the Black Pearls at the Gathering! Bring a similar amount of pow with you. We can all yell "yahoo"!


 

If epic was skiing where me and my buddies skied that afternoon he wouldnt even have thought of skiing his or yours skis. They simply wouldnt of worked at all. To bad I had his skis;) his S7 were pretty sick, even found some places to huck them. Sorry E(r)Pic(k)

 

188366_10150110924550000_669099999_6629469_3511043_n.jpg

 

 

 

Its both but when it comes to skiing terrain its is quite often the ski, plus life is short why make thing hard on yourself. I have said it a million times all the skills in the world would never make skinny ski feel better to me where I like to ski. I like to dictate to the mountain and not the other way around.

post #16 of 48
Thread Starter 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Living Proof View Post

Ahhh, the eternal question that sits between my friend Finndog and me: Is it the skill of the skier or the ski. Given the choice, I stand with the skills of the skier. Finn, the dog, stands with the ski.

 

In learning theory¸ one theory is there are 4 stages
unconsciously incompetent (most people who have never skied big trees or pow)
consciously incompetent (I know I can’t do it)
consciously competent (I can do it if I try real hard)
unconsciously competent (Hell, no problem, just do it)

 

My sense is this that year Trekchick, has moved into the unconsciously competent level of skier. Trish has taken a lot of lessons in the past, always worked to improve, moved to a major ski area, skied a lot more and is just skiing at a much higher level. I am very happy she can just jump on a new pair of skis and make pronouncements like the Black Pearl just rocks in new pow. I would not have judged her ski reviews as highly 3 years ago when she purchased a lot of skis, living more in the consciously competent area….thinking that if she had better equipment, she would be better skier.

 

My beliefs are that sweat equity counts. Work at it, always get expert advice on improving, and keep trying to be the best you can. 2 weeks ago, at Stowe, I skied with Epic. We were both on skis that get great reviews¸ made by the same company¸ his 10 mm narrower at the waist than mine. Epic’s skiing blew me away, no comparison. Compared with Epic, I am consciously incompetent, yet, he told me he still works with higher level instructors to improve his own skiing. Keep working to improve skills or regress. I wish I could buy the ski that would make me his equal. Few, if any, get to his level on their own, we all have teachers or have walked the paths of others and learned from their efforts. And so, my thoughts about the contributions of Bob Barnes and the work TC has done on her skiing skills are not offered to diminish the new Blizzard Black Pearls, but to honor those who really make a difference. I’m a fan and owner of a pair of Blizzard Sl’s.

 

Finndog has spent much time in powder and trees. I hope someday to spend some time with him at the ‘boat and learn tricks about skiing where he ventures. Not say'in the right ski does not count for a better experience, only, that right ski is subjective.

 

I appreciate good equipment, no matter what I’m doing – cutting meat with a good knife, driving nails with a hammer, or trying to rip on skis. But, make no mistake, if I had the choice of spending a day with Bob Barnes to pick his brain about how to ski better or buying a new Blizzard ski, I’m riding the chair with Bob.

 

Trish, enjoy the new skis. See you and the Black Pearls at the Gathering! Bring a similar amount of pow with you. We can all yell "yahoo"!


LP, you are a gentleman and a good friend.

I have, in deed, gained some confidence and skill through the incredible instruction of Bob Barnes and some of his friends in the coaching world.  Like the words of the famous Martin Luther King Jr, "I am not what I once was, but I'm not yet what I want to be."  

 

It is a fun thing when good ski equipment and good coaching come together to inspire confidence and good skiing!

 

post #17 of 48


Mike, you are way off the mark.  Not true at all, I just don't obssess over "skills" and I understand that a good ski, one that optimnizes the experience that you have is important. Bottom line is once you get into a line or whatever, I try to turn everything off and just make it happen. I may not have all the skills I need but I will improve with time on the snow, In the mean time, I am having fun and seem to be able to get through most terrain. You may enjoy the focus on drills and precise skills and that's cool for you.  But please don't imply I Think you can buy a turn, you can't but you can maximize it and dial in the experience to what kind of skiing you want. Otherwise there would just be one kind of ski. Like BWPA said above, I prefer wider skis and playing around with different designs to experience the different ways the ski's feel. It's more about the feeling of the snow; surfin' easy, smooth mindless...... I don't think about skills when skiing.  I'd raher take a day with bob on a ski I like and can ski well vs. a day with bob on a ski that is more than I can handle or skis in a way I don't. icon14.gif
 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Living Proof View Post

Ahhh, the eternal question that sits between my friend Finndog and me: Is it the skill of the skier or the ski. Given the choice, I stand with the skills of the skier. Finn, the dog, stands with the ski.

 

In learning theory¸ one theory is there are 4 stages
unconsciously incompetent (most people who have never skied big trees or pow)
consciously incompetent (I know I can’t do it)
consciously competent (I can do it if I try real hard)
unconsciously competent (Hell, no problem, just do it)

 

My sense is this that year Trekchick, has moved into the unconsciously competent level of skier. Trish has taken a lot of lessons in the past, always worked to improve, moved to a major ski area, skied a lot more and is just skiing at a much higher level. I am very happy she can just jump on a new pair of skis and make pronouncements like the Black Pearl just rocks in new pow. I would not have judged her ski reviews as highly 3 years ago when she purchased a lot of skis, living more in the consciously competent area….thinking that if she had better equipment, she would be better skier.

 

My beliefs are that sweat equity counts. Work at it, always get expert advice on improving, and keep trying to be the best you can. 2 weeks ago, at Stowe, I skied with Epic. We were both on skis that get great reviews¸ made by the same company¸ his 10 mm narrower at the waist than mine. Epic’s skiing blew me away, no comparison. Compared with Epic, I am consciously incompetent, yet, he told me he still works with higher level instructors to improve his own skiing. Keep working to improve skills or regress. I wish I could buy the ski that would make me his equal. Few, if any, get to his level on their own, we all have teachers or have walked the paths of others and learned from their efforts. And so, my thoughts about the contributions of Bob Barnes and the work TC has done on her skiing skills are not offered to diminish the new Blizzard Black Pearls, but to honor those who really make a difference. I’m a fan and owner of a pair of Blizzard Sl’s.

 

Finndog has spent much time in powder and trees. I hope someday to spend some time with him at the ‘boat and learn tricks about skiing where he ventures. Not say'in the right ski does not count for a better experience, only, that right ski is subjective.

 

I appreciate good equipment, no matter what I’m doing – cutting meat with a good knife, driving nails with a hammer, or trying to rip on skis. But, make no mistake, if I had the choice of spending a day with Bob Barnes to pick his brain about how to ski better or buying a new Blizzard ski, I’m riding the chair with Bob.

 

Trish, enjoy the new skis. See you and the Black Pearls at the Gathering! Bring a similar amount of pow with you. We can all yell "yahoo"!



 


Edited by Finndog - 3/24/11 at 8:40am
post #18 of 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philpug View Post

For those "not in the know" or just to keep you up to the players in the game..The Black Pearl is the ladies version of the Bushwacker with a slight variation in the core. 

 

What's the differnce in the cores?

 

((FYI: Aussie ppl, there are NO ORDERS YET for the BP :( sadness!!!  RETAILERS!!! ORDER THEM!!! Of you'll miss out on a HUGE section of the market! (I questioned and got an answer from the Aussie Distributor today.)))
 

post #19 of 48
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spanna View Post



 

What's the differnce in the cores?

 

((FYI: Aussie ppl, there are NO ORDERS YET for the BP :( sadness!!!  RETAILERS!!! ORDER THEM!!! Of you'll miss out on a HUGE section of the market! (I questioned and got an answer from the Aussie Distributor today.)))
 

This is very sad!^^^

The real sadness is that the women who've skied the Black Pearl love it without question, but the guys who order for ski shops are making an assumption that the graphix will turn women off from buying them.........seriously, that sucks!

I am inspired by the graphix as well as the incredible ski that it is.  

 

Retailers beware!  You are missing a huge selling ski if you don't put these in your shop!
 

 

post #20 of 48

123456


Edited by Whiteroom - 3/27/11 at 7:03am
post #21 of 48

Differnce in the cores for Bushwacker and Black Pearl:

From the Aussie Distributor:

". The construction, Pearl v Bushwacker is different. Bushwacker has Titanium over the edge & carbon top sheet, Pearl has Titanium in the core, but not over the edge, meaning it’s friendlier in its torsional & longitudinal rigidity."

 

 

And this is his whole email, which also explains a bit regarding stock issues for retailers:

"One of the difficulties with having skis in Australia prior to season launch in the northern hemisphere is knowing what people would like to buy. When these skis are shown to retailers at our trade show in October each year, the 1st samples are generally not produced & we have to present these as graphics only. This also means, we haven’t been supplied the technical detail of the ski at that point either. Some ski companies are really protective of new design, particularly, new innovations such as Blizzard’s flip core. Obviously, if the ski (design) has been in the market for 1 year or more & it’s a change in graphic, maybe a small technical change like introducing early rise, these are easy to sell through, but new innovations, without this detail is not.

The first we see of the new ski (physically), is at international sales conferences, generally held late November/early December. It’s kinda like, wish you’d given me that information before we had to try & sell it. While we might be ahead of the north in new production release, with new stuff, it still means it will take a year for these new innovations to filter through to the Aussie market.

The Pearl & it’s brother skis are part of the growing market segment that includes back country freestyle, freestyle, free ride & to some degree, backcountry (often called side country) touring. The graphics are fantastic, pictures really don’t do them justice as in the flesh they look great. The construction, Pearl v Bushwacker is different. Bushwacker has Titanium over the edge & carbon top sheet, Pearl has Titanium in the core, but not over the edge, meaning it’s friendlier in it’s torsional & longitudinal rigidity.

As I said, there is a time frame to check for availability of early production. Go to your local store & get them to call me & order."

 

 

Nordica, Technica and Blizzard don't actually help themselves in the Aussie market.

I saw the promo material yesterday = CRAP.

Colour printed a4 pages, hole punched in a coloured file?

COME ON!

What a way to do a disservice to the skiing community by not producing a decent sales brochure for the retailers to hold and peruse!!!

Oh, this was ONLY the skis, not the boots - they were all pretty.

GRRRGRRRGRRR

I think i got the shop interested ....

 

Will make a few more phone calls today to see what else is known in retail land about them!



 

post #22 of 48
Thread Starter 

Spanna, thanks for posting this. I was going to as soon as I clarified some stuff but you beat me to it, and did very well.

 

post #23 of 48

So today, Trekchick loaned me her spiffy Black Pearls.  I'm not the schooled or accomplished skier she is, and I've frankly been sick for the last 3 weeks, so today was my first day on snow in over a month.  I was a little skeptical about demo-ing a ski that was (a) fatter than what I'm used to (Lotta Luvs measuring in at a hefty 82 underfoot) as well as a tad longer (166 to my scrawny 163).  My own fatties (Rossi VooDoo's) were at home in Kentucky, so with 13" of new snow, I figured, what the heck, let's try 'em.

 

The first couple of runs were weird because, well, my first few runs are always weird.  But boy, these skis love the crud!  They'll slice thru almost anything and they're pretty happy in powder too.  They hold a nice edge on the groomed stuff--the only thing they weren't wild about was ice, but then neither am I!

 

The topsheets/graphics:  what can you say about looking down at your skis and seeing a bull with a pink eye glaring up at you?  If that doesn't encourage you to amp up your efforts, I'm not sure what will!  Not the prettiest ski I've seen (my VooDoo's are really ugly!), but there's something oddly inspiring about ol' PinkEye!

 

In short, these skis made my skiing suck slightly less!  Thanks, Trish, for the loan! smile.gif

 

 

post #24 of 48
Thread Starter 

SugarCube, I was glad to let you give the pearls a try, and sooooo happy you had a fun day!!

IMHO Black Pearls and Black Diamonds go together quite nicely!

 

post #25 of 48

So, I'll be posting my review of the Bushwackers soon. Great ski! But, I just a quick comment. It's really interesting to me that retailers are worried about women not purchasing the ski based on the graphix. I'm not naive enough to think that aesthetic appeal doesn't come into play in marketing, but I really hate the idea that the sales of the ski are based on the graphix. It should be based on the ski! And, Blizzard's 2012 big mountain line has some kick ass (am I allowed to write that?) skis. I've skied both the Bonafide and the Bushwacker - they rock! Ski them for that reason, not your feeling on the bull.

 

Okay, now I am going to discredit everything I just said above. I'm a chick. I dig the bull graphix. Although that is not the reason I would (and did!) purchase from this line, the inspiration of charging ahead like a bull - awesome. Especially after reading the story behind it. Way to inspire some RAWR. devil.gif

post #26 of 48

Yeah, it might not target the swirly flowers demographic with its barbed wire, but hey, the Black Pearl is a nice purple...biggrin.gif

post #27 of 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spanna View Post

Differnce in the cores for Bushwacker and Black Pearl:

From the Aussie Distributor:

". The construction, Pearl v Bushwacker is different. Bushwacker has Titanium over the edge & carbon top sheet, Pearl has Titanium in the core, but not over the edge, meaning it’s friendlier in its torsional & longitudinal rigidity."


Having some trouble with syntax here. Does "top sheet" in the first clause = "core" in the second? So that Bushwacker has Ti on top of a sandwich core of wood, then carbon, plus underneath ("over the edge"), while Pearl has Ti as a laminate? Or something else completely? I had assumed that both had one sheet of Ti over the midsection core, and the Bush added to that two strips above each edge, Pearl did not. But this sounds different. th_dunno-1[1].gif

post #28 of 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyond View Post




Having some trouble with syntax here. Does "top sheet" in the first clause = "core" in the second? So that Bushwacker has Ti on top of a sandwich core of wood, then carbon, plus underneath ("over the edge"), while Pearl has Ti as a laminate? Or something else completely? I had assumed that both had one sheet of Ti over the midsection core, and the Bush added to that two strips above each edge, Pearl did not. But this sounds different. th_dunno-1%5B1%5D.gif


there is no metal in the bushwacker beside the underfoot part.

 

post #29 of 48

Purchased the Black Pearls on TrekChick's recommendation and have to say that they are possibly the best ski recommendation I've every gotten. Just spent a week up in Silver Star near Vernon, BC - skied everything from fresh groomers to skiied out steeps with windblown nastiness to 8cms of fresh and had a total blast. I was quite nervous about the prospect of a rocker but these things stuck to the snow like glue with none of that annoying chatter that I associate with true rockered skis.

 

These skis are easy to initiate, fast like stink for a ski of these dimensions, long/medium/short radius turns? No problem. Trees? Fan-freakin'-tastic. Very versatile, excellent crud performance with plenty of life and spring. I think you'd have to work hard not have a good day on these puppies and I think that they'd be well suited to a wide variety of skiers both in skill and in temperament. Love-love-love them....and I think the graphic is cool too - not everything for us girls needs to have pretty flowers on it :) 

 

mog

 

for reference: skier stats - 32 yrs old, 5'6", 160lbs, bought the 173cm. Ski about 20-30 days a year when the weather + baby sitting cooperates. Favourite terrain is anything with snow that is not a mogul field.

post #30 of 48
Thread Starter 

I'm really glad you like them as much as I thought you would. 

IMHO Blizzard really hit this one out of the park.

 

 

Dare I say it..........Double dog dare me to say it.........

 

I'm at SIA checking out the 2013 skis and all I have to say is...............

 

 

But Wait!  There's more!!!

 

biggrin.gif

 

 

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Member Gear Reviews
EpicSki › The Barking Bear Forums › On the Snow (Skiing Forums) › Member Gear Reviews › Review: 2012 Blizzard Black Pearl